IPL 2022: 10 Franchises and Two Virtual Groups: Which Team Will Face Whom? Full Explainer

For the first time in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history, we will see the cricket teams divided into two virtual groups. On February 25, IPL governing council announced that this year IPL would begin on March 26, and the final will be held on May 29.

In total, 70 matches will be hosted in the league phase across different venues in Pune and Mumbai.

Since 2008, its inception, IPL teams have always played in such a manner where each team faced the same opposition twice in the field, but in the latest 15th edition of the Indian Premier League, things get a little twisted.

This time BCCI has increased the number of franchises to ten by adding two new franchises, i.e. Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans.

In response to Increased franchise numbers, the Board hasn’t increased the number of matches per team, and they are still 14 matches per team.

The sum of all league matches is 70 (excluding 4 playoff matches) divided among 10 teams. Each team will play 14 league matches (7 away and 7 home matches).

Each cricket team will face 5 teams twice and single matches with the remaining 4 teams.

To decide the order of league matches, two virtual groups are formed based on the number of IPL played by them, the tournament won and the number of final matches qualified by the respective IPL teams. 

How are virtual groups formed?

Virtual groups are as followed:

Group A: Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants.

Group B: Chennai Super Kings, Sunrise Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Punjab Knight Riders and Gujrat Titans.

Table showing data about the winner and final watches appeared

SR. IPL Team Winner Final 
1 MI 5 6
2 CSK 4 9
3 KKR 2 3
4 SRH 1 2
5 RR 1 1
6 RCB 0 3
7 DC 0 1
8 PBKS 0 1
9 LSG 0 0
10 GT 0 0


Respective IPL teams in their virtual groups

SR. Group A SR. Group B
1 MI 2 CSK
5 RR 6 RCB
9 LSG 10 GT


In groups A and B, MI (Five titles) and CSK (Two titles) have been placed in the first position, respectively.

By following the same method, teams third and fourth, i.e., KKR (Two titles) and SRH (One Title), have been placed in groups A and B at the second position, respectively.

Correspondingly, Rajasthan Royals (one Title) and RCB (3-time finalist) have been placed at third position in groups A and B, respectively.

Delhi capitals and Punjab king riders both are one-time finalists and placed at the fourth position of Group A and Group B, respectively.

Lastly, new franchises Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans are placed at the last position of groups A and B, respectively.

Which team will face whom? 

Each IPL team will share the field twice with their group members and the team of their same row, and with the remaining four teams, a single match will be played by each team.

For example, Rajasthan Royals will face MI, KKR, DC, and LSG from its group A along with RCB, and one match each with the other four teams of group B.

On the same note, CSK will play two matches with members of group B along with MI and a single match with the rest of group A members.

managed service provider Previous post How to Improve SEO Ranking Using Schema Markup in 2022
Defense Lawyers Next post Three Reasons to Hire a Medical Fraud Defense Lawyers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *