What are the classifications of switches?

Switches can not only help us achieve fast data transmission, but also effectively control traffic. However, different types of switches also differ in functionality and usage scenarios. By understanding the classification of switches, we can better understand the various characteristics and uses of switches.

In modern networks, switches are crucial as they help us achieve rapid data transmission and effective traffic control. But, you know what? Switches are not a unified thing, they come in many different types. This article will introduce the classification of switches, so that we can better understand them.

The classification methods of switches mainly include the following:

  1. Technical classification:

Ethernet switch for Ethernet environments; Fast Ethernet switch, supporting higher speed Ethernet switches; Gigabit Ethernet switch, a switch that supports Gigabit Ethernet speed; FDDI switch, used for FDDI network; ATM switch, used for ATM networks; Token ring switch, used for token ring networks.

  1. Scale application classification

Enterprise level, it is suitable for those large enterprise networks, such as large companies or multinational corporations. This type of switch is usually rack mounted; Departmental level, suitable for medium-sized enterprise networks, can be rack mounted or fixed configuration; Working group, suitable for small businesses or office networks, usually in a fixed configuration.

  1. Classification of architectural characteristics:

Rack mounted, it is like a large slot that can be inserted into different types of expansion modules, with good scalability, suitable for supporting multiple network types of scenarios; Fixed configuration with expansion slots, it has a certain number of fixed ports and also comes with some expansion slots, which can support other types of networks by adding expansion modules; Fixed configuration without expansion slots, it only supports one type of network and is relatively inexpensive, widely used in small businesses or office networks

Ruijie’s high-density large cache cloud architecture network core switch RG-N18010-E adopts a completely orthogonal design between the business card and the switching network board. Cross board traffic is transmitted to the switching network board through orthogonal connectors, with low transmission loss, greatly reducing signal attenuation, and improving the efficiency of business flow transmission. Support hardware level dual boot, use two FLASH chips to store boot software (system boot program), achieve hardware level boot redundancy backup, and avoid switch failure due to FLASH chip failure. 

The classification of switches mentioned above is mainly based on their technical characteristics, application scale, and architecture design, in order to meet the requirements of different network environments and needs, facilitate the selection of appropriate switch types, improve network performance, reliability, and security, meet our communication needs, and provide reliable network connections.

Previous post The role of data center switches, an article to help you understand
Next post 5 Factors That Determine Diamond Quality

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *